Object Of Affection 'Field Of Appearances'

Product Information //

- Will ship to arrive on or around the scheduled release date of 3/3/23
- Any other items placed in an order along with this item will not ship until this item is in stock and ready to ship on or near 3/3/23
- We can not split shipments, please place two separate orders if there are other items that you wish to have shipped immediately.
- We cannot combine separate orders.
- All images of physical items on this page are digital mockups & the final product may differ slightly from what is pictured.

The new LP ‘Field Of Appearances’ from OBJECT OF AFFECTION comes out March 3rd. We’ve teamed up with Profound Lore Records for a Summer Shade exclusive vinyl variant - Clear with Blue, Red, Black and Yellow Splatter. Only 100 available online for pre-order.

Field of Appearances is the full-length debut from Los Angeles-based band OBJECT OF AFFECTION, which contains members of renowned acts Fury, Death Bells, and LOCK. Meticulously crafted with Grammy-nominated producer Alex Newport and emerging engineer Phillip Odom, Field of Appearances is an exceedingly memorable, precisely cohesive, and importantly, a refreshing addition to the alternative music landscape.

With the inclusion of drum machines, synthesizers, acoustic guitars, and auxiliary percussion, Field of Appearances highlights the band's sophisticated evolution and experimentation from previous single Through and Through (Suicide Squeeze) and their self-titled tape. The result: ten songs exploding in character, contrast, and excitement.

Exploring themes of reflection, insufficiency, and Déjà vu as well as additional contributions from Bre Morell (Temple of Angels, Crushed) and Brittney Beppu, each track on Field of Appearances simultaneously plays a role in making it a more significant sum than its parts while also standing out individually.

OBJECT OF AFFECTION taps into the primitivism of said members’ other projects while elevating their capacity for atmosphere and melody. Hints of gloomy post-punk, forlorn new wave, and down-and-out Regan-era alternative rock reverberate in their sound, not as pastiche but in sonic kinship to the austerity and fatalism embedded in the previous generation’s desperate and dejected anthems.

1. Half Life
2. Run Back
3. Time
4. Laying Claim
5. Buried
6. Someone
7. Is This Fate
8. Con-Man
9. Empty Eyes
10. Why Now

Pressing Information:

Clear with Blue, Red, Black and Yellow Splatter (Summer Shade Exclusive Variant)