Posted on April 18th, 2022
Young Guv announces GUV IV out June 24th, listen to "Change Your Mind" now

Just last month Young Guv (aka songwriter Ben Cook) released his latest masterpiece, GUV III, and today the ever-prolific musician is already back to announce its sequel, GUV IV, due out June 24th from Run For Cover Records and Hand Drawn Dracula (Canada).

Where GUV III encapsulates Cook's most instantly accessible guitar pop songwriting (earning praise from the likes of Stereogum, SPIN Magazine, Paste Magazine, Uproxx, and many more), GUV IV represents the most sonically adventurous side of Young Guv. Cook has an unparalleled ability to write perfect power pop but GUV IV highlights his expertise with the many other sounds and styles that have dotted Young Guv's expansive catalog over the years. The record effortlessly moves between hazy, Madchester-inspired rave ups, twangy California jangle, and even homemade sophisti-pop--while always retaining Cook's undeniable melodies. GUV IV's lead single "Change Your Mind" sees Cook teaming with frequent collaborator James Matthew VII for a blend of hazy hooks, pedal steel guitar, and a nearly psychedelic mood that transports the listen to the New Mexican desert where it was written.

Preorder GUV IV

Recent Headlines //

LANNDS Share New Single "K TOWN"
Posted on October 19th, 2022